Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows: this movie is over two hours long and none of it is relevant

I must begin this post by saying that I only saw an hour of this movie. I like to see lots of movies when I go to the theatre, and I really only watched this one to kill time in between The Muppets and My Week With Marilyn. But the hour that I did see was so offensive in its awfulness, I felt I had to comment.

First things first. Even if this movie was good, (which it’s not) the fact that it has NOTHING to do with the original Sherlock Holmes books/character should discredit it. The original Sherlock Holmes appeared in 4 novels and 56 short stories and I can assure you, none of them involved him scaling then blowing up multiple buildings in London.

The way the makers of this film have tried to include certain character traits of the original, almost as a consolation prize for people who are actually familiar with the story is ridiculous. For example, the original Sherlock Holmes is very logical and this was the main crux of his abilities. He could deduce things from observation, logic and memory and was able to work out a natural progression of events so he was always a few steps ahead of everyone else. In the films, this becomes: Robert Downey Jr. visualizes fights in slow motion before they happen, so that when the fights happen in real time (well the sped up movie version of real time) he usually has the upper hand. There’s even this weird scene where he describes the whole fight in his internal monologue but everything is an analogy for cooking eggs- it’s weird. In essence, they’ve boiled down one of his main personality traits to a visual effect, that really has nothing to do with the original sentiment. That’s like making a modern movie about Leonardo da Vinci as a trendy chiseled Euro painter, and to accurately portray him as a Renaissance man, making him an ecstasy dealer AND a club promoter.

Yes, these criticisms are all about accuracy. Like I said in the beginning of this post, if this was a good movie in its own right, and it just strayed from the original I would be singing a very different tune. But it wasn’t and I’m not.  The three minute preview I saw for Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close had more emotional depth than the hour and thirty minutes I saw of this movie.

SHERLOCK HOLMES WASN’T A TRANSVESTITE NINJA. Why does that even need to be said??? I feel bad for Sir Arthur Conan Doyle who I’m sure is just rolling around in his grave. Also. Everyone keeps saying, “It’s better than the first one!!” That’s not that hard to do! I’ve seen youtube videos of cats throwing up I liked better than the first Sherlock Holmes movie. That’s just me though 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows: this movie is over two hours long and none of it is relevant

  1. Tammy says:

    The modern series Sherlock has nothing to do with the books/source material, but it has received mostly positive critical reception. Should we discredit it?

Leave a Reply

